iPoet


After years of writing poetry and almost always keeping it to myself I have come to realize that I probably needed to go through that phase to appreciate the current phase I’m passing through…And this is the conclusion I’ve come to:

The poet needs to interact…

…with himself as well as his environment.

Currently, in Ghana, I believe poets need to interact amongst themselves more. I have observed most of them do, which is great. I can’t wait to see a deeper interaction amongst the many poets I’ve met personally.

Worthy of mention are Jude Edze and Elikplim Akorli….*flashback* Chale Wotey Street Art Festival 2011; the energy of the poetic interactions was great. It has helped me fine tune my craft.

Interactions with Laud De Poet, Sharkiru, Crystal Tettey, DK Osei Yaw and the many other times I’ve interacted with other poets, which I unfortunately do not clearly remember, have contributed to me understanding the purpose of their art and understanding myself more as a poet.

The poet needs to interact with his audience as often as possible.

I just felt I should put this out there.
I look forward to interacting with not just other poets but my audience as well🙂

2 Comments

  1. Efo Dela said,

    August 5, 2013 at 7:27 am

    I really wish i could attend more poetry programs and interact with more poets. It would definitely help me improve.
    It’s always a pleasurable learning experience

    • August 7, 2013 at 9:55 am

      Very true.Online interaction provides a lot,but meeting people in person provides a deeper interaction.


Leave a Reply

