Space Travelers By Country


This blog post was inspired quite recently–about…two weeks ago,I guess.
But the domino effect started about a month or two ago when a fellow poet (Kwame Write) known for his great word play replied a question on Twitter—His answer is given below,along with other interesting answers I got from other friends on WhatsApp.

I guess I favourited that tweet…maybe.
Well,Kwame’s answer was rekindled when Namoji Obese,also a fellow poet,along with Kwame and I were talking about the kind of wonderful creativity on Twitter,and how most of the time one needs a great sense of appreciating sarcasm,lest one wouldn’t be able to deal with some tweets.

During our conversation (we had taken a break from rehearsing our Spoken Word collaboration “Rewrite,” which we were yet to perform for the third or fourth time at Vocal Portraits Live) at Barcelos at the Accra Mall.
Obese reminisced a tweet he saw concerning a question about what the ^^name of space travelers from Ghana would be…

Can you guess? (Please don’t guess if you “know” the answer :/)

It was later that evening when I had gotten home and was recollecting my thoughts about the day’s activities that I decided to share Kwame’s answer with some of my WhatsApp contacts.This led to more questions about how several other countries would name their space travellers…🙂

Do read through the list I compiled.You may make your suggestions or additions🙂. Just before that,I guess most of us know that what Americans and Russians call their space travelers?–Astronauts and Cosmonauts,respectively.That’s the logic the contributors and I followed.
Now:

1.Canada–Doughnuts
2.Holland–Hazelnuts
3.Ghana–Groundnuts
4.India–Juggernauts
5.Greece–Argonauts
6.Nigeria–Cola nuts
7.Norway–Nutmeg
8.Barbados–Coconuts

**Acknowledgements…Kwame Write,and then my WhatsApp contacts: Gifty,Michelle,Kukua and Stephen.Guess which one(s) I came up with😀

^^Did you know Ghana has a Space Agency? Here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghana_Space_Science_and_Technology_Centre

12 Comments

  1. naatakia said,

    August 13, 2013 at 7:42 am

    hahahahha, really funny. I think you came up with the….hmmmm #thinking😀

  2. August 14, 2013 at 10:54 am

    South African’s Pecanauts

  3. swaye said,

    August 14, 2013 at 11:08 am

    Haha..GH-Ground Nuts.. That sounds cool

  4. Paul Forjoe said,

    August 14, 2013 at 11:10 am

    Real real funny will use that as a joke the next time I can

  5. Amma Konadu said,

    August 14, 2013 at 11:23 am

    But the groundnut no, who said it? eh, who?

    • August 15, 2013 at 9:45 pm

      Hmmm,the Groundnuts ehn? All I can say is I didn’t come up with that🙂

      • Afyakiss said,

        August 16, 2013 at 10:14 pm

        ok O’zionn i think you forgot to type your ‘tiger nut’

      • August 18, 2013 at 9:26 am

        Really?? And which country will tiger nuts be?

  6. September 16, 2013 at 11:15 pm

    Peru : peanuts


Leave a Reply

