Have You Heard Of “Thepomast”?


No…please don’t google it!🙂

It’s simply one of those imperfect acronyms I coined up this morning while thinking about how far (not that far, though) I’ve come in my craft of poetry.

The-p-o-ma-s-t : The Principle Of Managing Small Things.

Ahannn! If that was the title of this post you would probably not have read it and it would have been too long a title also.

Let me go straight to the point with this.
Whatever big dreams you have just look around yourself and within yourself. Use what you have. Work with what you have.

For example, “Thepomast” in relation to my craft of poetry is an example of far (as I said, not that far) I’ve come with my craft of poetry.
Those days in Senior High School when I’d buy writing pads and envelopes to package the few poems I had and share them with friends at school. I also had a book in which I recorded to which person and which poems I’ve shared -too much detailing, huh?
That was my way of managing the whole thing.

In essence, we all manage things in various aspects of our lives, but I’m making reference to that dream. Make that conscious effort to work at it. Work at it with the dream in mind, and consequent vision at heart, until it becomes totally part of you that you’d even make people around you believers of that dream.

I managed with the writing pads and envelopes in relation to the sharing what I wrote, so it was easier for me when I got introduced to blogs and my notes on Facebook sometime after I was through with Senior High.

I used my many “un-smartphones”, working to achieve my dreams through tweets and Facebook updates to the extent that some friends knew without a doubt that I needed a smartphone.
When I eventually got a smartphone I started working tirelessly; the arduous task of using an “un-smartphone” was now made too easy.I managed the little things, the little I had, to achieve relatively great things. So you can guess what I’ll achieve with bigger (better) things.

What I can safely say –remove all clichés linked to what about to say and please get this– is that what matters most in managing great things is how we manage the little things that can grow into great things.

Thepomast! You won’t experience what I’m talking about until you start managing the small things, in relation to that big dream you have.

Maybe you have your own principle.Keep at it!
Just don’t despise the little things, and the days of small beginnings.

8 Comments

  1. Kofi Unique said,

    October 1, 2013 at 11:53 pm

    Dude, you really got some serious point in here.. We got some stuff we really didn’t manage and we lost, I think with the term THEPOMAST out now, we’d all learn the principles of managing our small things now… And also, the title seriously got me in here… lol

    • October 2, 2013 at 7:28 am

      Thanks a lot for reading.I’m glad you enjoyed the read.

      And yes,the title even still fascinates me.

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. priye said,

    October 2, 2013 at 8:38 am

    my minds wonders alot this days…..i keep focusing on the larger picture and how if i had the means (big things) i would have achieved em. its a good thing i came across this piece. nice piece @royycejeddio’zion

  3. Elizabeth A said,

    October 2, 2013 at 11:53 am

    …….jst a fan passing by😉
    The Principle Of Being a Fan (“THEPOBAF”)
    Nice piece Royyce…

  4. Sernna said,

    October 7, 2013 at 12:09 pm

    nice piece and you absolutely right…………no 9 no 10


Leave a Reply

