Qu’est-ce Que Vu!


I’m not too sure whether I believe totally in coincidence or not, and I haven’t yet decided whether to agree to the suggested absoluteness of the statement that “everything happens for a reason“; e-ve-ry-thing o! Everything. Okay.

But some very recent happenings have both intrigued and freaked me, together with other people, out!

Imagine that… -wait, did I say imagine? Errmm, just be careful. Maybe it might happen and you might freak out!- But imagine you casually thinking about something, and just a few seconds later you ‘see that thing’ or ‘that thing happens’. . .

Imagine that you casually think: “Hmm, it’s been a while I saw a parrot”, and just under 60 seconds, in a place where you haven’t seen a parrot or likely to see a parrot, one comes crashing into your window!
Or ermmm, while reading a newspaper in public you spot a strange news which makes you think: “What kind of news is this. Too bizarre.” And then you nudge your friend sitting by you to show them the news and just under 60 seconds , after your friend says: “If a dog bites a man it is no news, but when a man bites a dog it is news”, you literally see a scuffle somewhere close by and a man bites a dog!!! *stifles swear word*

Uh-huh, that’s the kind of thing I’m talking about.

On a lighter occurrence, you mention someone’s name while having a chat with another person and all of a sudden the one whose name you mentioned comes around!
Yeah, I know. . . “Almost everyone has experienced this before. This is nothing new. Stop acting like you’ve discovered something super”, you, the reader, are likely to say. I know🙂.
It’s even captured in then Akan language: *Onipa ne ne din (the person and their name, loosely translated).
But the frequency of the Onipa ne ne din phenomena doesn’t make it any less of a phenomena to other phenomena like it which are/may be very similar but distinctly different, and even yet to be taken note of.
In light of the fact that it may not have even been taken note of (which I doubt) these are some of the happenings I mentioned which has triggered this post:

-I was watching KSM’s TGIF quite recently. It was Kalybos and Ahoufe Patri who were on air. A few seconds after Ahoufe Patri answered KSM that her official name is Priscilla I got a message via WhatsApp from a contact called Priscilla;

-I was watching an episode of South Park on my laptop where Stan’s dad, Randy, had suited up in a Spider Man costume. Around that same, on TV, there was news about someone who had dressed up in a Spider Man costume in Egypt;

-I was watching an old comedy show of Chris Rock about a month ago on my laptop. My brothers were around and were watching the Television but they could hear Chris Rock speaking because I had connected the laptop to the woofers.
It got to the this part of Chris Rock’s show where he started making a joke and mentioned Colorado and David Blaine in the same sentence -I was amused because in one episode of South Park (which is set in Colorado) David Blaine was featured- I had to pause the Chris Rock show to laugh with my brothers. A few seconds later , I randomly asked one of my brothers to scan through the TV channels if there was anything interesting on TV. You won’t believe me, but on about the third channel he switched to here was David Blaine on TV! Doing his magic in the street!

I have tried to understand this and read a little around, and told a few friends about it.
And here is my dilemma, as suggested in my first paragraph, if it is a coincidence (because it doesn’t strictly fall into the definition of coincidence; time is an important factor here) without apparent causal connection doesn’t the possibility of a connection give it a chance to be investigated more? Won’t that probably inform us greatly about the human brain/mind?
Also, if everything happens for a reason what could be the reason behind my experiencing this, and frequently at that?

Qu’est-ce Que Vu! (loosely translated: What have you seen!).
I am yet to see anyone write about it (because I’m still searching). It might even be named differently.
The reason why I named it that way was for it to fit into the similarity of the definitions of such phenomena as found in Déjà Vu, Jamais Vu, Presque Vu.
You should try to read about the other Vus, if you haven’t, or care to know more, it might help you get what I’m trying to talk about.

What have I seen! Maybe you or someone you know must’ve have seen it too.

Qu’est-ce Que Vu!

Author’s Note:

The Onipa ne ne din is explained as “when you mention one’s name and one comes around then it means one is not yet to die.”

Do you know if Onipa ne ne din is captured in other language/culture? – The aspiring polyglot in me wishes to know.

7 Comments

  1. January 15, 2015 at 11:53 am

    The things you say… Beats my mind sometimes

  2. Gogzy Efya Madonna said,

    January 15, 2015 at 8:56 pm

    I have thought about the deja vu phenomenon a couple of times…especially when I’m so certain I am experiencing something I had experienced before the exact same way I experienced it…I’m so certain I can taste it. One time I told myself that maybe God had spun time around for his own amusement…to see if anyone would catch on. I sometimes like to think He’s jovial like that. Qu’est-ce que vu?! Interesting piece Jojo the bearded philosopher. Sorry I do not know any Nigerian translation of “Onipa ne ne din” I must find out.

    • January 15, 2015 at 9:31 pm

      It’s been a while I experienced deja vu.
      And yes, Qu’est-Ce Que Vu. Been baffled by it for a while now.

      Alright, I hope you find it, even if it is different.

  3. Leslie said,

    January 15, 2016 at 10:24 am

    Heeeeeerh! Really, that’s all I can say

  4. qubammish said,

    April 8, 2016 at 8:40 am

    Muhaha! Dude! Have you heard this quote by William Temple? “When I pray, coincidences happen, and when I don’t, they don’t.”
    I find these occurrences more entertaining than terrifying though🙂

    • O'Zionn said,

      April 8, 2016 at 4:12 pm

      Yeah. Ever since I wrote about this I’ve found it more entertaining. Heck, I think I’ve even began to find “meaning” to most of these happenings.

      There’s so much more to it, as I will continue searching.


Leave a Reply

