The Nuances of Thy Creativity


I am moved to qwerty up this post because of @GloriaBuckman’s seeking for justification (not from me at the moment she tweeted) for something I said yesterday about self-awareness, the artist, and their creativity. But since I am the author of the book she was looking for but apparently didn’t find, unless in an alternate universe I had actually written the book by then. . .

Here is the causal tweet, followed by Gloria’s tweet:

“to be self-aware, as an artist, of your creativity -how it works and all that- is such a powerful thing.

The Nuances of Thy Creativity”
O’Zionn

“Can’t seem to be able to find this. Is it a book? Would be interesting to read his / her justification for this.”
Gloria

I believe that when we are aware of our ‘self’ (our thought processes and daily routines/actions) which particularly makes us artists/helps us express our artistry we are positioned in moments where we can then be in control – to increasing extent – the art that we produce.
And therein, I believe, lies the power.

To be aware is to be knowledgeable and that is power.

For example, I am (very) fond of wordplay. I go all bonkers when another person ‘creates’ it, or when I ‘create’ one and another person easily gets it. If I wasn’t aware of it I’d probably not have consciously thought what more I could do with it.

Because of this I’m usually actively aware of what I’m thinking about as much as possible, this makes me more ready to pick up on creative thoughts that zap through my mind daily. So to be better at wordplay (which I became aware that I like, and could be good at and would want to be better at) I read more, especially about the meaning of words.

Dictionaries and thesauri then come into the picture. So in my self-awareness, though these words will float in my mind unconsciously, when an external object triggers a thought pattern or when inspiration strikes (because I am usually aware of my thought patterns, and this drains me of a lot of energy) some of these related words I need to create such an art of words quickly come to the fore of my mind (the drawing board, or writing board) which I do well to capture because I am aware of the thought patterns; how it makes me behave, how it makes me feel, how it leads me to desire, to want to share it or not. This self-awareness affords me that power to ‘control’ what I want to ‘create’

Therefore, to me, this is such a powerful thing; to be in ‘control’ of one’s self as an artist because one is constantly self-aware.

Sounds legit, right?🙂

I’d like to know if you have any more questions or contributions. I’d love to continue with this. It’s basically a personal/self observation I recently made and could not be (or it could be) as common as I surmised it to be.

-O’Zionn

[26/10/2015; 2205hrs]

3 Comments

  1. mercurynii said,

    October 27, 2015 at 10:04 am

    True. But I find that being actively aware of your thought process sometimes hinders creativity. I think I write best when I just ‘let go’ (and edit later)

    • O'Zionn said,

      October 27, 2015 at 10:22 am

      Yeah, that’s also true.

      And I find it more interesting, what you said about active self-awareness sometimes hindering your creativity – since you are aware of active self-awareness does to you you just ‘let go’; your being actively aware informs you not be aware from a certain stage during your creative process.

      It tells me that you are self-aware on that level of things and that(!) is seemingly one your creative nuances🙂.

      Thanks for sharing.

  2. mercurynii said,

    November 6, 2015 at 12:22 am

    No p. It’s a very interesting topic ..


Leave a Reply

