Celebrating Africa with AfroBloggers


Based on the theme of the blog I have been nominated for, Thoughts || Words || Actions (my poetry blog) this is what I want to say about Africa in celebration of it:

yet you think,
you do not have the strength?

see what your endurance has done.

see all the hope
blossoming
with positivity.

see what you’re capable of.

i celebrate you
to stir up your willpower.

~A Write for Africa~

If not for nothing at least for this one thing I know, and I think it is worth celebrating, that despite the negative stories about Africa, we still strive on! And I need add, I also celebrate this about Africa, the efforts of non-Africans who are genuinely concerned about the progress of Africa. We still try to make the best in such situations. Contrary to what one might want to believe, I think there’s so much happening (positive thoughts) happening in the minds of Africans–young Africans. And so I celebrate that, and I celebrate the future, tomorrow and how these positive thoughts are/will affect our words and our actions for much of the good dreams and visions we have for the continent to be realised.

By the time I was done drafting this up–*it has taken me a couple of days to write this*–I had been nominated several times, first by @naatakia and later on by @Amegaxi for the AfroBloggers Recognition Award. And later on (by time I am posting this up) by @ayawuku, @sinawo_bukani, @Poetyk_Prynce, and @NJBraso

As a matter of fact it was through these fellow Ghanaian poets (@naatakia and @Amegaxi) that I first read tweets influenced by the @AfroBloggers handle on Twitter–has it been about 3 weeks since(?)–it was related to writing poems with the 140-character limit of this social network.

Personally I feel it’s a good initiative; it adds to the need for Africans to interact with each other more via sharing poetry with each other on Twitter, at least–it encourages it, so yeah…it’s cool🙂

I nominate the following bloggers:

1.@naatakia
2.@NJBraso
3.@sinawo_bukani
4.@ayawuku
5.@B0wen
6. @Poetyk_Prynce
7.@Amegaxi
8.@readJerome
9. @SimeonMarkCofie
10.@TrueCoaster
***

This is how the award works:

1.Once you are nominated, make a post titled CELEBRATING AFRICA WITH AFROBLOGGERS.

2.Your post should share a brief on Afrobloggers and the work they are doing. Also thank and link the person who nominated you.

3.Celebrate Africa in the way you feel is more appropriate and in line with your blog”s overall theme.

4.Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.

5.Ensure all of these bloggers are of African heritage.

6.Lastly, COPY these rules in the post and include the link to this original post.

P.S.
This here blog isn’t the blog I was nominated for–at least by the blog Naa Takia did. I would have uploaded this post on that blog, but if you read the “about me” page on this blog you’ll find out why. Easier still, based on an idiosyncrasy I have, I have decided to separate my prose blog from my blog of poetry.

3 Comments

  1. November 25, 2015 at 5:08 am

    I loved the poem. I also loved seeing you write in full sentences!!! hahahaha this is just an obsession of mine, I also enjoy it when poets write paragraphs, always makes me chuckle, does it feel like wearing a tie? hahahahaha okay ignore me and my weird obsessions. I loved reading this🙂 thank you…

    • O'Zionn said,

      November 25, 2015 at 11:27 pm

      😃 Thanks, Sinawo.

      It’s interesting that you enjoy it when poets write paragraphs; this topic has come up at 3 literary events I’ve attended this month.

      *sounds like a good title for a literary initiative*:

      “When Poets Write Paragraphs” 😃


Leave a Reply

